The country that lives on coffee
November 19th, 2013
04:00 PM ET
Share this on:

In the hills of Burundi, farmers tend their coffee crop. Their livelihoods depend on a good harvest.

Coffee in the small central African nation is more than just a hot drink; it's a valuable commodity that props up Burundi's agrarian-based economy.

The world of Starbucks baristas and double macchiatos are an alien concept to coffee growers in one of Africa's poorest nations, where 55% of the population earns their livelihood from Arabica beans.

Chantal Ka-Hor-Rury, a coffee trader and head of a collective that helps farmers bring their crop to market, is committed to helping Burundi expand its coffee industry.

Read - Burundi's coffee culture 'the difference between food and hunger'

Posted by: ,
Filed under: Coffee • Travel


soundoff (3 Responses)
  1. Thinking things through

    Burundi. I would not have guessed.

    November 23, 2013 at 1:06 pm |
  2. Noxy

    I can't drink coffee.. In any form.. The most amount of caffeine I can handle is what comes in diet coke or tea. I rarely drink diet coke nowadays, though unsweetened iced tea is a staple with me.

    I have un-medicated ADHD so anything with a higher caffeine content than soda makes me break out in cold sweats, I get jittery and shaky, and I feel extremely sleepy and tired though I may not be able to make myself go to sleep. I used to be able to drink frappuccinos but I ordered one a couple of weeks ago from Starbucks (a large salted caramel with a shot of chocolat), drank 1/3 of it and started feeling woozy and gross....

    November 21, 2013 at 9:03 pm |
    • Noxy

      And you sound like you have the mentality of a 2 year old.

      November 22, 2013 at 4:18 pm |
Pinterest
 
| Part of