October 30th, 2013
06:30 PM ET
Share this on:

What would Olivia Pope do?

The impeccably dressed crisis consultant at the center of ABC's runaway hit Scandal rarely goes an episode without a fishbowl-sized glass of red wine in her hand. But how would she spin it if her beloved vino were suddenly in short supply?

Analysts for Morgan Stanley reported yesterday that the wine industry is experiencing an "undersupply of nearly 300 million cases" a year, leaving some oenophiles worried about where their next case is coming from.

Belinda Chang, a former James Beard Award Outstanding Wine Service Award winner and current Champagne Educator for Moet Hennessy, told CNN, "Tell my friends and family I love them, but they will have to BYO to my parties moving forward."

Naturally, social media gulped down the news and commenced panicking and plotting - hilariously.

@canalcook: "Can do it one word: AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHH!"

@rebekahRD: "Absolutely and completely freaked out."

@themelvins: "Commence emergency stockpiling procedures now"

@mariephay: "my worst nightmare come true!"

@LCL1111: "Burglar alarm for wine cellar!"

@FranklinH3000: "Hello, Darkness, my old friend."

Some offered up practical suggestions:

@thekitchengaily: "well maybe if all those crazy wine folks would drink instead of spit this wouldnt be happening!! #Truth HA!"

@AmyMariePowell: "Drink less wine, but better"

And other will keep calm and sip on with other potable possibilities:

@DavidWondrich: "Thank the lord for whiskey!"

@Stacey4UHoos: "Fine. Unfazed. Drink sweet tea. ;)"

@ree923: "guess I will drink rum" And she followed up: "because it is a vile drink that causes the best men to think they are sober, or something."

Our own brand new beer columnist Greg Bowman advises:

So what's behind the dry spell? Isn't 2.8 billion cases sufficient for our quaffing quota, and seriously, can you swing an empty Riesling bottle without hitting a new local winery in your area?

As it happens, global consumption has spiked by 1% over the past year, thanks in part to China developing a taste for fermented grape juice. At the same time, bad weather in France and Argentina played a big part in dropping worldwide production by 5%.

Americans are also swigging more than they're squeezing, consuming 12% of the world's wine - more than the 8% the domestic wine industry is contributing to the pool. And while American vineyards are certainly on the rise, these are mostly small, boutique businesses that while quite admirable, contribute little to the overall supply.

So for the time being, consider downsizing your glass (yes, even you, Olivia Pope), and perhaps focus on quality over quantity. Because a life without wine would simply be a scandal.

Previously:
Thirsty? There's a global wine shortage
5 Ways to Sex Up a Bargain Wine Bottle: Sommelier Belinda Chang
5 spooky boozes for Halloween
$30 million of wine down the drain

Posted by:
Filed under: Big Business • Business and Farming News • Sip • Wine


soundoff (23 Responses)
  1. Erin-Leigh

    There always seems to be plenty of crap wine available, but never enough of the great grape. I suppose this problem is only going to get worse now. Sigh.

    November 1, 2013 at 1:12 pm |
  2. Jim

    When I start seeing empty shelves at my favorite liquor store I'll start to be concerned. Right now I am blessed with a huge selection of local wineries (in KY) that make some pretty decent stuff and all seem to be doing well.

    October 31, 2013 at 5:54 am |
  3. Deryl Robinson

    I already have my allocations set, and a well-stocked cellar. I'm covered. This makes me wish I would have bought that vineyard though.

    October 31, 2013 at 2:45 am |
  4. ala-kat

    I found it funny that just a few months ago the 5% loss of French grapes (from a hail storm) was going to cause a 50% increase in price. Perhaps they are drinking too much of their own juice, as their math skills are abysmal.

    October 31, 2013 at 2:35 am |
  5. Larry Weber

    Well, if I can't get my prescription filled, I'm going to Stacy's.

    October 31, 2013 at 2:15 am |
  6. DT in AZ

    I make my own! Keep 3 gallons of red and 3 gal of white on the fermenting bucket then rack it...... and then start over....no short supply for me......heck, as long as you have yeast you have alcohol!.....

    October 31, 2013 at 1:48 am |
  7. Dr Zen

    I make my own from premium grapes.

    150 L of Sagemoor Vineyards Syrah and 150 L of BC Pinot Gris are currently sitting in small tanks in my apartment. I've got a couple of hundred bottles from previous vintages as well.

    Haven't been to a liquor store in a few years. I am also ready for the zombie apocalypse.

    October 31, 2013 at 1:02 am |
  8. Bill Gallagher

    I may pay a bit more thanks to the law of supply and demand... I'm not worried though (especially here in California)

    October 30, 2013 at 11:26 pm |
  9. MD

    There aint no wine shortage in Canada. Especially in the west! We had a bumper crop of grapes and fruit. So, no shortage here! Perhaps you folks who like wine ought to look for Okanogan wine! Or even other wines in Canada.

    October 30, 2013 at 10:35 pm |
  10. tim

    Well....if this info is comingfrom Morgan Stanley....it is probably a freakin lie and they have futures they want to sell. What a bunch of criminals

    October 30, 2013 at 10:16 pm |
  11. are122

    So long as Boones Farm can continue to get the finest grapes from the finest vineyards I am okay.

    October 30, 2013 at 10:07 pm |
    • Wootings

      ...why would they need grapes? Their products aren't made from grapes. Mostly apples.

      October 30, 2013 at 10:15 pm |
    • Thomas

      What's the word? Thunderbird
      What's the price? Forty twice

      :)

      November 1, 2013 at 8:19 am |
  12. Wootings

    I practically collect liquor. We've got literally (almost, anyway) everything – many types of whiskey, vodka, rum, gin, cognacs, tequila, mezcal, absinthe, etc. Even a good eau de vie. And I can happily enjoy them all...along with virtually any kind of beer. And while I also stock and occasionally enjoy a nice port or ice wine, I simply can *not* understand why anyone drinks regular wines at all.

    I do not get it. There is nothing about any chardonnay, merlot, pinot this or pinot that, so on and so forth, that makes me want to drink it. Or champagne, for that matter.

    The entirety of the world's fascination with wine leaves me completely befuddled. The best I can figure is it gives people an excuse to pretend they're better than someone else because they're drinking wine instead of a screwdriver or a Miller Lite.

    October 30, 2013 at 9:24 pm |
    • Come on

      Come on, how can you be so close minded? Folks have been drinking wine for thousands of years. You really think that all of that time we haven't figured out how to make and enjoy a good wine without pretentiousness as a driving factor?

      You like a good liquor, some folks like a good wine. I myself enjoy both.

      October 30, 2013 at 10:25 pm |
      • Wootings

        Close minded? Oh believe me, I've tried. Practically everything, wine-wise. None of it is appealing.

        The pretentiousness though? Yeah...that's real. A lot of the time.

        October 30, 2013 at 10:33 pm |
        • Ron

          You're a moron.

          October 31, 2013 at 12:14 am |
        • DT in AZ

          I agree with Ron

          October 31, 2013 at 1:49 am |
        • Thomas

          So because you don't like something, no one else should like it? Got it.

          November 1, 2013 at 8:20 am |
  13. DonTheGreen

    I make my own from kits. Not as good, maybe, but after a few, who cares!!

    October 30, 2013 at 9:01 pm |
  14. Casket City Jim

    Who cares? It's just booze, bitter stuff that we can do without.

    October 30, 2013 at 8:20 pm |
  15. Stacy Byas

    I have wine and liquor to last me for a long time... even when the zombie apocalypse ensues, I should be good and soused for years to come – should I survive that long.

    October 30, 2013 at 8:14 pm |
    • Jamie

      I'll bring the snacks!

      October 30, 2013 at 8:30 pm |
Pinterest
 
| Part of