Coffee klatsch
August 19th, 2013
05:00 AM ET
Share this on:

Pssst! Got a sec to chat?

We are utterly thrilled when readers want to hang out and talk – whether it's amongst themselves or in response to pieces we've posted. We want Eatocracy to be a cozy, spirited online home for those who find their way here.
Consider the weekly Coffee Klatsch post as your VIP lounge – the primary comments thread for readers who'd like to chat about topics not related to the articles we're running. That way, everyone knows where to find each other, and each post's comments section remains on topic.

You can always find it from the link in the left rail, or by bookmarking http://eatocracy.cnn.com/category/buzz/coffee-klatsch/. If things start to heat back up over the summer, we'll go daily again.

Personally, we've really enjoyed the flow of conversation this past couple of weeks, because conversations have been able to continue for people who don't visit every day – but it's a work in progress and we're always listening.

Your weekend went how?

Posted by:
Filed under: Buzz • Coffee Klatsch


soundoff (137 Responses)
  1. JBJingles_Matts Review Part Dos

    OK, so my Thursday starts with me a little worse for wear after letting RH win that game of pool the night before ;) But, I have to go to the office and finish up my business in Austin. Somewhere across town, RH emails me around 10 am that he is up and going to go have a nice breakfast and then a nap, while I'm eating orange crackers with peanut butter from a vending machine! Lunch that day was a little less underwhelming as I found a grocery store that sold turkey sammich, so I had a 1/2 of that for lunch. I was able to get done a little early and back at my hotel by 3 pm, so RH agrees to pick me up at 4:30 so we can have an early dinner because I was flying out early Friday.

    My white (haired) knight in a shiney Toyota picks me up right on time and I take the suicide seat for the drive to Matt's...his global positioning system thingy is yakking the whole time yelling at him to turn right or left or stay right or left. We arrive at Matt's, with its very crowded parking lot. so I get RH VIP parking! The vintage sign out front tells me we are in for something good "Matt's Famous El Rancho, Best Mexican Food in the World" it proclaimed, and Live Mariachi at 7 pm, cool!

    http://tinypic.com/r/29omj42/5

    The restuarant is cavernous with rooms everywhere, and a nice size bar inside the building, but we head out to the patio for a drink before dinner. Since it was so hot out, there were not too many people at the outside bar. RH tells our bartender (Sharone, like the song "My Sharona") I wanted a "special" margarita, and she says they have a Pwickly Pear Margarita, I've never had one and it sounded great. Sharone was more than enthusiastic to make our drinks!

    http://tinypic.com/r/1zqdobr/5

    http://tinypic.com/r/mvopxx/5

    As RH said, I was tickled pink by my drink, so pretty yet so tasty.

    Sharone was very nice and tried to take a picture of us, took a few tries, but this was the best we could get.

    http://tinypic.com/r/o0c8k0/5

    Next up was an appetizer, "The Bob" dip, it was amazing! I didn't think I would care for guacamole in a cheese dip, but the combination of seasoned ground beef, chile's, cheese, and guac was very very good, no wonder it is one of their specialties.

    http://tinypic.com/r/vo2x43/5

    Another round of drinks and great conversation, then it was time for dinner! I ordered the smoked chicken enchiladas with green chile verde sauce and RH, what else, beef! Mine came with refried black beans and RH had the regular, and as he said the rice was really tasty, but we couldn't figure out what they used for the liquid. RH turned on all his charms and tried to persuade Sharone to get the recipe, but she was not budging.

    http://tinypic.com/r/2qdqyio/5

    http://tinypic.com/r/35co9q8/5

    By the time we finished dinner, the place starting filling up, even out of the patio where it was warm. I could hear the Mariachi band starting to play in the bar inside and went to check it out...after a quick rendition of "Tequila" (and me doing the Pee Wee Herman dance), it was time to call it a night.

    This is one place I will be returning to on my next trip to Austin! Thanks RH for the wonderful dinner and the laughs.

    August 24, 2013 at 11:18 am |
    • RichardHead on Matts Review Part Dos

      Nice review JBJ...........I just got an E-mail from Matt's General Manager concerning my request for the Mexican Rice Recipe---A Very Professional-NO. Sniff,Sniff,where's the Kleenex? Oh well,at least I tried.

      August 24, 2013 at 6:58 pm |
  2. RichardHeads First Ever Restaurant Review,or How One Person can Make or Break a Restaurant

    Dear Ms.Kinsman--I gotz moderated on my Restaurant Review--would you pull me out of ModBot Hell,PLEASE????

    August 23, 2013 at 4:22 pm |
    • RichardHead@Kat

      Thanks Kitten-–JBJ and I both noticed a young lady with a colorful tattoo on her left shoulder-I thought it was a colorful Phoenix Bird....JBJ said it looked like an Indian Chiefs Headdress--After 3 drinks it could have been an either or.......We both thought of you. Have a Great Weekend and Thank You.

      August 23, 2013 at 5:48 pm |
  3. RichardHeads First Ever Restaurant Review,or How One Person can Make or Break a Restaurant

    It's been almost 3 years this week that I received a Devastating E-mail from JBJingles,though it was More devastating to her. She revealed to me that she had just been diagnosed with MS–a terrible disease. I immediately got on the phone and called her just to let her know I was there for support or whatever she needed at the time. My second thing to do was E-mail my Brother Truth,Still The Smartest Man in the room and gave him the bad news. At this time we both agreed that it would be Best to let JBJ make the announcement to the rest of The Klatch in her own way and time.
    Fast Forward to last week when I received another E-mail stating that she would be in Austin and would it be possible to meet face to face. Now don't get me wrong-I've got nothing against Austin Texas....a fun and laid back Town. Hell,I could live there–I'm just as weird as the rest of the Folks.
    As most of you know I'm an Over the Road Truck Driver and as an Owner Operator I can pretty much pick and chose any load available,but I wasn't gonna tell JBJ that. I sent her back the standard reply " Well,if the stars align just right,I might be able to meet you there " . The Blue Moon was shining on me since I was in the Carolinas and a load going to Laredo,Texas or as I call it Lil'Mexico City was available. The gears in my head started revolving into How I could pull this off and surprise her in Austin. To be Honest with you all,I've got a better chance of winning a trip to Mars than to be able to get a good paying load out of Laredo with some decent miles. It ain't gonna happen,so I dropped the load in Houston,took Big Blue to the KW shop for maintenance work,took a cab to the Hacienda and loaded up the 4Runner for a Secret visit with my "Special BFF ".
    After arriving in Austin I started looking for a special place to take her to dinner on Thursday night-that's when I chose Matt's El Rancho and as his Beautiful Neon sign says....The Best Mexican Food in the World. Having MS does have it's perks since JBJ has a handicapped sign and we parked on the Front Row. The parking lot is huge,as is the Restaurant itself which can seat up to 500 people. So we mosey on in (after JBJ has to take a picture of the old Neon sign ) and states to the Hostess that we will sit on the Patio. OK,It's 98 degrees and about 100 percent Humidity–( It's around 4:45 p.m. CDT )but I'm Buyin' so whatever you want to do Dear. As we walk from the spacious AIR Conditioned Dining Room out into a BIG Patio with a fountain,separate Bar and we can smoke outside. That's a 5 point plus since we both smoke. Each of the heavy wrought iron tables has it's own large umbrella that covers the entire table and they also have Industrial fans blowing cool air onto everyone. I had to keep a close eye on JBJ as there was a sign stating " Parents–Please don't let your children play in the Fountain" and she kept inching closer and closer to it. We sat at the small Bar and introduced ourselves to our Bartender and also our waitress Sharone. We became name droppers after she recommend a Prickly Pear Margarita for JBJ. This drink was Bright Pink,bordering on a purple Hue and JBJ's eyes almost popped out of her head. That is a Damn Good drink she said. Now I'm more of the laid back,give me a manly drink type of Guy...and since Shirley Temples were NOT on the list,I ordered a Black Jack Daniels and Coke. Whoa Nelly,Sharone is a Damn Good Bartender. So JBJ and I catch up on everything we haven't been able to say in E-mails..How the families are doing,what the Doctors have been saying,ETC. It is time for Round two and Sharone makes another Fantastic drink for us both. At this time she asks..Are you ready to order Dinner? So I didn't tell JBJ that I had checked out the Menu @www.MattsElRancho.com and said "Let's start with a small Bob Gibson Dip". Now everyone here knows I'm a BIG Baseball Fan and for some reason it came out as Bob Gibson instead of the True name Bob Armstrong–or as the Local Austin people call it " The BOB ". Sharone was very nice,never correcting me and immediately placed the order. I can see why this stuff is Famous...It is presented in a small molcajete which is a Spanish version of a mortar and pestal grinding devise, a Very Nice touch. I'm not sure what type of cheese they use but it damn sure isn't Velveta...creamy and smooth,with a large spoonful of Mexican spiced ground beef and a Large Dollop of freshly made Guacamole right in the center. The chips are made fresh in house and are NOT greasy and extremely tasty. This stuff is addictive. It is time for the main course to be ordered-JBJ gets the Smoked Chicken Enchiladas with rice and beans and I always order the Beef Enchiladas with chili con carne. JBJ got the Green sauce on hers. The food is hot when Sharone places it in front of us and JBJ goes to town. She says "I don't taste the smoked chicken in that first bite " so I tell her go to the middle of the enchilada. Oh Yeah,there it is and she proceeds to scarf them down. As for my Beef Enchiladas-I judge a Mexican Food place on two things.....the refried Beans,the Mexican rice...and then the taste of the Beef Enchiladas. So the refried beans were good,but a little lack luster in taste.I move over to the left of the plate and sample the Mexican Rice.OMG-this is THE BEST Mexican Rice I have ever had,and people,I have eaten my share in my Lifetime. It tastes like the rice is cooked in some type of broth,and it's really fluffy and tastes Amazing. There is a slight burn at the back of your tongue,which is the way it should be. Next I try the Beef Enchiladas..the smell is amazing and it looks like two types of cheese have been melted over the top of them. The taco meat has just the right amount of Kick and the soft tortillas they are wrapped in are amazing. I look around and loosen my belt a couple notches,Gawd this stuff is REAL and GOOD. We take a smoke Break...wise decision and I call my Brother Truth. You Ain't Gonna Believe this S___t,of course I was speaking of the food and NOT Sharone, who was holding her own in the small Bar. I noticed how she would handle a returned drink because it did not have enough salt on the rim.....No Problemo....New Glass with new Salt and here 'ya go. Complete control of drink orders. It's now going on 7:00 p.m and things on the patio are running smoothly,all the waitstaff is smiling,sizzling Beef and Chicken Fajitas are served at a table behind us.....and I'm about ready to request a taste. The sun is starting to set and beating down on both of us....Ummm... Sharone-one more round but we are gonna sit in the shaded corner and I want to make sure you get the Big Tip. Two more Fantastic drinks and the patio is a well run machine. I'm gonna give this place 4 and 1/2 stars....Why Not 5 you ask? Since WD passed away,she would have been doing a tail wagging dance on her Bar stool...and being a Gentleman,I really couldn't tell if JBJ's tail was wagging--But I could tell her Dinner was out of this World. If any of you are ever in Austin.....Trust me--It's the BEST Damn Mexican Food you will Ever eat. JBJ will post pictures in her review of Matt's on Monday,'cuz she Does not work over the weekend.It's a California thing....:))

    August 23, 2013 at 4:18 pm |
    • JBJingles_from the casa

      Awww, great review RH! I have to get the pics off my dumb phone first before I can post...maybe later today if it works.

      I must say that I was humbled and surprised when I learned you had given up a run just to meet me! When you told me you were in the Carolina's, I thought no way this would happen. Nice surprise! More later. I'm too tired to type right now.

      August 24, 2013 at 7:31 am |
      • JBJingles_from the casa

        [IMG]http://i39.tinypic.com/292sgg5.jpg[/IMG]

        August 24, 2013 at 11:13 am |
    • Jerv

      Dude, that is a wall of words. JBJ has good tatse. In beer, that is. Great Klathz photos, ya'll rock!

      August 24, 2013 at 1:25 pm |
  4. RichardHead@Kat

    Good Afternoon Fearless Leader-–just a heads up that I'll be posting my Restaurant Review later and I've already been moderated twice today. It will be rather lengthy......Thank You in advance. :))

    August 23, 2013 at 1:40 pm |
    • Shirely U. Jest

      Just thought I'd add a little vapor to the conversation :)
      I saw your picture yesterday RH. You don't resemble anything like the person I had imagined.
      This is sort of how I figured you were.

      [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LJf9fYM8-s&w=640&h=390]

      August 23, 2013 at 2:46 pm |
      • RichardHead@Shirely U.Jest

        Thank You for your post But.....my Breastesses are Bigger than that girls. Enjoy the weekend.

        August 23, 2013 at 4:40 pm |
  5. Sir Biddle

    WTF!?!??!?!?!?!??!?!?

    [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSkHMSKgIWs&w=640&h=390]

    August 23, 2013 at 10:55 am |
    • Truth™

      A great moment in human dignity there...Were it me, I hope I would have run for the hills, changing my phone number and email address while enroute.

      August 23, 2013 at 11:18 am |
    • AleeD®

      Did she not notice that no body was enjoying that but her> Not even the groom started grooving 'til she was right next to him. Dingus. I'm with Turth – run, don't walk, away. Far, far away.

      August 23, 2013 at 12:12 pm |
  6. Sir Biddle

    HAPPY FRIDAY SLAGBUCKETS!!!!

    August 23, 2013 at 8:51 am |
    • Truth™

      Morning and Happy Friday.

      Longtimers will appreciate this. I get the Merriam-Webster Word of the Day email. Today's entry is a trip down memory lane:

      vaporAudio Pronunciation\VAY-per\

      DEFINITION

      verb

      1

      a :

      to rise or pass off in vapor

      b :

      to emit vapor

      2 :

      to indulge in bragging, blustering, or idle talk

      EXAMPLES

      Andrew spent more time vaporing about his sprint times than actually training, so his teammates were not surprised when he got beaten soundly in all of his events at the next meet.

      "The night was clear, and there was a half moon overhead. Their breath vapored in the chilly March air as they watched the black Cadillac drive off." — From Michael Baron's 2005 novel The Mourning Sexton

      August 23, 2013 at 9:08 am |
      • MicheleG™

        I like the absence of Vapor..............................nice

        August 23, 2013 at 10:11 am |
      • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

        Heh. Vapor.

        August 23, 2013 at 10:31 am |
    • AleeD®

      BACK ATCHA HORSEBEAST!

      Hmm, kinda like the sound of that. ~_~

      August 23, 2013 at 9:38 am |
      • Sir Biddle

        Does have a little zing to it doesn't it?

        August 23, 2013 at 9:41 am |
        • AleeD®@Sir Biddle

          That author is right up my humor alley. I'll be visiting there again. :)
          How's tings at TT?

          August 23, 2013 at 10:06 am |
        • Kat Kinsman

          He seriously makes me weep, and laugh so hysterically I get an asthma attack. Such good stuff.

          August 23, 2013 at 10:09 am |
      • Sir Biddle@Alee-Slag-D-Bucket

        You have mail Slag

        August 23, 2013 at 10:40 am |
        • AleeD®Sir Vampire Pigbat

          Ok, I'm liking this "beast" thing way too much. After hitting the oatmeal again, I'm officially changing it up. While it's not your birthday, here's your new moniker:
          http://shop.theoatmeal.com/products/pigbat-greeting-card

          And while you're there, check out the other "horrible cards"
          http://theoatmeal.com/horrible4

          August 23, 2013 at 12:36 pm |
        • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

          lol. "Here's a picture of a baby owl smoking crack in his underpants. I hope that makes up for it."

          August 23, 2013 at 2:10 pm |
        • Sir Biddle

          Se also: BunnyRaptor

          August 23, 2013 at 2:22 pm |
        • AleeD®Sir Vampire Pigbat & bosc ♫♫ (baby owl smoking crack)

          Happy "you-exploded-out-of-a-v_ _ _ _ a" day. Priceless.

          August 23, 2013 at 3:28 pm |
  7. Breaking News!™

    Hollywood announced today that the next actor to play Batman will be well known Hollywood Liberal Stooge Ben Affleck. In keeping with this change, Batman will not longer be equipped with the Batmobile and his Utility Belt, but rather with a book on collaborative problem solving, because after all, there really are no "Bad" guys in this world, just rather "Misunderstood" guys, who lacked a balanced, racially sensitive upbringing and educational opportunities. The new Batman will be about building bridges, not walls.

    You may now return to your regularly scheduled Eatocracy.

    August 23, 2013 at 8:19 am |
    • AleeD®@

      Hurl ... fwah ... blurge! Can't stand Bendover Aflack.

      Speeew!

      August 23, 2013 at 9:40 am |
    • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

      Dammit

      August 23, 2013 at 10:32 am |
  8. Truth™

    Good morning all and Happy Friday!

    Word is that the secret Klatch meeting in the Lone Star State rolled on to a fun conclusion last night, and that one of our own is boarding Cheapo Airlines shortly for the trek home. I will be climbing up onto the roof of my building at approximately 0930 MDT to wave at the plane. Tales last night surfaced of waitresses, killer Mexican food and pool games. Fortunately no arrests.

    August 23, 2013 at 8:16 am |
    • RichardHead@Truth

      JBJ is at the airport,even after 3 "Prickly Pear Margaritas " pics will follow in the Restaurant review. BTW–the female bartenders name is Sharone...as she explained it," That's spelled Sharon with an E and an accent marker thingy over the O". French,Italian,Cajun....? She was from San Diego,CA and ended up in Austin. Man,she can make some killer drinks.:))

      August 23, 2013 at 8:48 am |
    • JbJingles from SLC

      best mahgahrita EVER! Smoked chicken enchiladas were devine, though RH seemed more into a spycy little dish called 'The Sharone'! :)

      August 23, 2013 at 12:25 pm |
      • RichardHead@JBJ

        She was rather spicy wasn't she? BTW–Your restaurant Review is due Monday,so Don't Forget. :))

        August 23, 2013 at 1:38 pm |
  9. The Witty One

    Well howdy do folks! How are all my favorite internet friends doing this fine Thursday? My project is finally wrapping up so I will have time to devote to the Klatsch! I miss everyone!

    August 22, 2013 at 11:17 am |
    • JBJingles™@TWO

      Miss you two! So are you still witty now that you have been absent?

      August 22, 2013 at 12:28 pm |
    • AleeD®@TWO

      Hi 2! Welcome back from the skunkworks. *sniff sniff* Since the plumbing in the dungeon flooded from the, ahem, heavy load Rich dropped yesterday, may I instead suggest some Febreeze?

      August 22, 2013 at 2:19 pm |
  10. Mary Shannon

    Seeing the pic reminded me that I still owed Kat a picture of the Furries, here it is:

    http://tinypic.com/r/30xc4co/5

    August 22, 2013 at 11:10 am |
  11. JBJingles™@Kat

    Moderated for wabbit ears?

    August 22, 2013 at 10:43 am |
    • JBJingles™@Kat

      never mind, but be a slow internets day

      August 22, 2013 at 10:44 am |
      • RichardHead

        Ummmmm–What's a but bee?

        August 22, 2013 at 10:55 am |
        • Truth™@ RichHead

          I think an exterminator may be in order...

          August 22, 2013 at 11:02 am |
        • Sir Biddle

          Sounds like some salve too....

          August 22, 2013 at 11:24 am |
        • JBJingles™

          "must be"

          August 22, 2013 at 12:06 pm |
        • AleeD®

          Do ya still shoot the epipen in the same place for that kinda sting?

          August 22, 2013 at 2:20 pm |
  12. Mary Shannon

    Here's a question that I'll throw out to all of you for your opinion.

    My company has an internal social network that they are encouraging everyone to use, frequently. My question to all of you is this: how do people who were "raised" in an environment where your work was to be kept separate from your personal life manage the transition to a business social environment?

    I am on FB and have a Twitter account, but for my personal use, my offhand comments and opinions about life. But that's what I consider "personal". How does that translate to business? I'm not sure I consider my day to day work to be interesting enough to comment on.

    Any ideas?

    August 22, 2013 at 10:01 am |
    • JBJingles™

      RUN don't walk away from that. I don't see how they think anything good could come out of that, but if you don't have a choice, and the 'encouragement' to participate is strong, I guess innocuous updates on going to the movies, or what you had for dinner, etc. would be the way I would go. I don't know how you "socialize" work?? o.O

      August 22, 2013 at 10:12 am |
    • RichardHead

      DON'T DO IT.....

      August 22, 2013 at 10:16 am |
    • Truth™

      You have just described what would perfectly const!tute employment he!! for me.

      But this will go over great with the brown nosing and glad handing crowd...

      August 22, 2013 at 10:20 am |
    • AleeD®@Mary S

      If by "encouragement" you mean "corporate bullying" I agree with the JBJ, Rich & Turth: run, don't walk, away. However, if you feel like this is something you'd like to dip your toes into to see how the water feels, why not create a separate FB account just for business "socializing?" If all goes well, you could invite people into your private FB acct. If not, close up shop and tell the folks at work that your internet crashed. ^_^

      August 22, 2013 at 12:50 pm |
    • Weeds

      Key phrase: Internal Social Network. Emphasis on Internal.
      For the HR types this is a great way to spread their propaganda – "You are lucky to have a job. Work harder for less pay and be happy." Be a "Professional". For the marketing types this is a great way to crow about how they recalculated the metrics and presto changeo – a creation of the new and improved even though its really same old same old.

      Oh yeah, put all your water cooler gossip right there so nothing in the rumor (don't tell anyone) is lost in the retelling translation. Comment on your boss's dorky choices in clothes and mention every now and then that the reception area always smells like a gym locker. Think of all the mischievous fun one could have with this. Think of the character Jim, in The Office.

      August 22, 2013 at 3:48 pm |
      • Truth™@ Weeds

        Yeeeeahhh, Peter, about those TPS reports...

        August 22, 2013 at 5:08 pm |
        • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

          Not now, Lumberg. I'm busy.

          August 23, 2013 at 11:11 am |
        • Jerv-I love that flick.

          [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHjlM5A1jME&w=640&h=390]

          August 23, 2013 at 2:22 pm |
        • Weeds

          great reference. still chuckling. I know what I'm watch on late night tv before the weekend is over.

          August 23, 2013 at 3:12 pm |
    • RC

      Yeah-that sounds like a really bad idea. Giving you just enough rope to hang yourself.

      August 22, 2013 at 7:21 pm |
    • Robert

      Such a system quickly turns overly agreeable. Everyone's standard answer is "good job" and "yes!" Where's the fun in that?

      August 22, 2013 at 9:25 pm |
      • Colleagues@Robert

        Nice work on that comment!
        Great job, it is obvious you put a lot of thought into that!

        August 22, 2013 at 10:48 pm |
  13. RichardHead

    There was a "secret " Klatsch meeting last night in Austin,TX.....complete with Brewski's and wine....Oh–and Pimento cheese. It was at a Fancy Resort Spa and with the stealth of an Black Ops Agent I actually got in,only after getting lost on the golf course and shooting some Birdies. There is a New sand trap located near Hole 1-
    Tonight we are going to an Austin Legendary Restaurant–been in Bidness since 1952. Real Texas Mexican Food so we will write a restaurant review tomorrow. Oh and somebody lost a pool game last night.:))

    August 22, 2013 at 8:40 am |
    • Mary Shannon

      Inquiring minds want photographic evidence!!!

      August 22, 2013 at 8:50 am |
      • RichardHead@Mary S

        There is a rumor that JBJ has a picture-after trying for 15 minutes to get the Flash to work on her phone. The bartender was very nice in taking the picture.

        August 22, 2013 at 8:55 am |
      • Sir Biddle

        Agree. Agree. Agree.

        August 22, 2013 at 9:06 am |
      • JBJingles™

        And here is the pic without the WPP touch up. :)

        http://tinypic.com/r/fwronc/5

        August 22, 2013 at 10:29 am |
        • Sir Biddle

          HAAA! Just noticed the rabbit ears he is giving you in the picture.

          August 22, 2013 at 10:33 am |
        • JBJingles™@SirB

          Yep, the bartender conveniently cropped out my rabbit ears on him! We had a lot of fun. So, now I've met two CK's face-to-face, do I win an Eatocracy cutting board? :)

          August 22, 2013 at 10:41 am |
        • Mary Shannon

          LIKE

          August 22, 2013 at 10:48 am |
        • The Witty One@JBJ

          Love the picture! I will be in San Antonio from 9/3 – 9/15 if you guys are going to be around near then. I can drive to Austin on the weekend!

          August 22, 2013 at 11:19 am |
        • JBJingles™@TWO

          Well, I will be flying home tomorrow, just here on business this week...

          Oh and RH was kind enough to buy me a present...Charmin double ply TP for the flight tomorrow on Cheapo Airlines!

          August 22, 2013 at 12:08 pm |
        • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

          Sexy Beasts.

          August 23, 2013 at 12:42 pm |
    • Sir Biddle

      I can picture you driving ole Blue around Bushwood CC.

      August 22, 2013 at 9:07 am |
      • RichardHead@SirB

        It would have been a Lil' tight for Big Blue to make it on the cart paths--luckily I have the Toyota 4Runner with 4WD. I kept looking for security cameras......

        August 22, 2013 at 9:28 am |
    • RichardHead

      And one more thang....if this Resort Spa is soooooo fancy-why NO regular Coors beer,NO Dos xx Amber ( Duh–we are pretty close to the mexican border ) yet they have Shiner and probably Lone Star. I called my Brother Truth to see if he could expedite some Coors to me.

      August 22, 2013 at 9:33 am |
    • JBJingles™

      Yes, yes, RH got LOST and had to do a u-turn in Sandra Bullock's driveway (allegedly). And just for the record, I let him win that game of pool...

      Here is the secret picture. LOL

      http://tinypic.com/r/2814xi1/5

      August 22, 2013 at 9:34 am |
      • Sir Biddle

        Love the witness protection blacked out eyes. Exactly how I pictured him. Glad you had fun and hilarious that Klatchers are meeting in real life. Never would have thunk this when you created Eatocracy did you Kat?

        August 22, 2013 at 10:18 am |
        • Truth™@Biddle

          I am still sayin Michael McDonald...

          August 22, 2013 at 10:22 am |
        • Sir Biddle

          sans goatee, but agree.

          August 22, 2013 at 10:42 am |
        • RichardHead@Truth&SirB

          Do I really look like a Fat Doobie ?

          August 22, 2013 at 10:46 am |
        • Truth™@Biddle, RichHead

          Hey, pretty fly for a white guy...

          [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oriUypWVcV8&w=640&h=390]

          August 22, 2013 at 10:49 am |
    • Kat Kinsman

      !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      August 22, 2013 at 10:09 am |
    • AleeD®@Happy Meeters

      Where's your pink carnation? Or did you just walk up to JB and offer her some Cheapo terlit paper and she knew it was you?

      August 22, 2013 at 2:15 pm |
      • JBJingles™@AleeD

        And who else would be walking up to a Country Club/Resort/Spa in the ritziest part of Austin with Charmin in a plastic grocery bag (which you could see through btw)??!! He made me carry my 'present' around too!

        OH, did I tell you that I LET RH win that game of pool?

        August 22, 2013 at 2:49 pm |
        • AleeD®@JBJ

          Did you let him win because he looks so much like Micheal McDonald that you kept getting distracted?
          [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJe1iUuAW4M&w=640&h=390]
          (Had to chime in on that. He's got a crazy sexy voice)

          August 22, 2013 at 2:59 pm |
        • AleeD®@JBJ

          Did you let him win because he looks so much like Micheal McDonald that you kept getting distracted?
          [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJe1iUuAW4M&w=640&h=390]
          (Had to chime in on that. He's got a crazy s3xy voice)

          August 22, 2013 at 3:29 pm |
      • RichardHead@AleeD

        Nothing says "Welcome to the neighborhood and I hope you have a Great BM " than a 4 pack of Double ply Charmin. It was an ice breaker,'cuz her first words were--" You didn't have a brown paper bag " ? Stay weird Austin. Oh,and my restaurant review will be later today. TGIF.

        August 23, 2013 at 8:04 am |
    • suj

      Tex-Mex in Austin?
      Let me guess, is it http://mattselrancho.com/
      Awesome.

      August 22, 2013 at 3:59 pm |
      • Jerv

        Wow, Matts menu looks awesome. Great to see 2 again. AleeD, Doobies are some of my favorite music. Gonna put that song on repeat for the rest of the day.

        August 23, 2013 at 7:57 am |
        • RichardHead@Jerv

          Hey Lil' Buddy,How's it Hangin'? The food was Fantastic and you should see the female bartender-What a Babe. BTW,Truth and I need your E-mail address...Pretty Plz?

          August 23, 2013 at 8:09 am |
        • Jerv@RH

          Just shot you an email from an old acct. Feel free to share it with any and all Klatcherz.

          August 23, 2013 at 9:23 am |
        • RichardHead@Jerv

          Just got back to the Hacienda from Austin. I don't see any mail from you.......it's stxlegend@__l.com if you would shoot me another one please. Thanks Lil' Buddy. :)

          August 23, 2013 at 1:32 pm |
  14. Truth™, with a cheerful thought for the day!

    This Mysterious Website Tells You When You Will Die

    http://www.businessinsider.com/website-tells-you-when-you-will-die-2013-8?utm_source=mobilesrepublic&utm_medium=referral&utm_term=mobilesrepublic

    August 22, 2013 at 8:19 am |
  15. JBJingles™_Question of the Day

    Pimento Cheese, yes or no? I've never had it and thinking of trying one of their appetyzers tonight...

    Cheese Sampler – Montrachet goat cheese, strawberry jam, balsamic, warm brie, mission fig chutney, housemade roasted poblano pimiento cheese

    August 21, 2013 at 10:48 am |
    • AleeD®@QOD

      Aren't pimentos smaller versions of that mint you're not supposed to chase with Diet Coke because it'll explode in your stomach?

      August 21, 2013 at 12:40 pm |
    • Kat Kinsman

      PIMENTO CHEESE ALWAYS.

      August 21, 2013 at 1:16 pm |
      • JBJingles™_QoD@Kat & AleeD

        Awesome, I'll give it a try. AleeD, not sure of what you speak, but I don't need an exploding stomach. I thought pimentos are those thingies they stuff in green olives....

        August 21, 2013 at 3:14 pm |
        • Turth™@JBJ, Katness, AleeD

          See attached...Makes my stomach hurt just thinking about it...

          [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKoB0MHVBvM&w=640&h=390]

          August 21, 2013 at 3:20 pm |
        • AleeD®@Turth™JBJ™, Kat

          Regarding Turth's video what a nasty mess that had to have been to clean up. But have no fear. It won't make your stomach explode – any more than any carbon8ed beverage would. The acid in your stomach has a profound effect on that fountaining reaction.

          August 21, 2013 at 3:37 pm |
        • Turth™@AleeD

          Just after I sent that, I realized that I probably should NOT have sent you something involving spurting fluids shooting out...Don't want to derail your train of thought on a workday...

          August 21, 2013 at 4:07 pm |
        • Bullwinkle

          Hey Rocky, watch me a rabbit outta my hat.
          [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrndLBfBHsk&w=640&h=390]

          August 21, 2013 at 4:47 pm |
    • JBJingles™

      **Update** OK, the pimento cheese was just OK, kinda dry, so I don't think I've had 'real' pimento cheese yet. The goat cheese with the strawberry jam (laced with jalepeno) was bueno, the brie with the balsamic and fig compte was numero dos in my book, with the dry pimento coming in at #3.

      August 22, 2013 at 9:38 am |
  16. JBJingles™

    Day One Dining:
    Prime Beef Sliders with Aged white cheddar, hill country steak sauce, vidalia onion salad. YUM

    Day Two Dining:

    Poblano Chorizo Queso Blanco with Spanish chorizo, guacamole, pico de gallo, corn tortilla chips
    Slow Roasted Pork Carnitas Nachos with Refried black-eyed peas, slow cooked pork, asadero cheese, pickled red onions, roasted poblano chili crema.
    Very good, but way too much, so only ate about 1/3 of it.

    So, last night I thought I would 'help' in room dining by placing my (very very heavy) tray outside the room...ha, guess I'm not as strong as I thought, it slipped as I was opening the door, crashed to the floor (hard wood) and broke pretty much every dish on the tray, food flew everywhere, glass too. I don't think they appreciated my help.

    And, I'll joing in What Day IS IT??

    August 21, 2013 at 10:05 am |
    • AleeD®@JBJingles™

      HumpDAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYY! Looking forward to the full moon going away. Things are too crazy 'round work.

      I hope you didn't get hurt. Baaaad dishes.

      August 21, 2013 at 10:40 am |
      • JBJingles™@AleeD

        Baad dishes indeed, maybe I didn't actually drop the tray, they just jumped off of it onto the floor! That's my story and I'm sticking with it...

        August 21, 2013 at 3:16 pm |
    • RichardHead

      I'm sure the wine had nothing to do with the broken dishes.:))

      August 21, 2013 at 4:52 pm |
  17. Mary Shannon

    Good morning. Its Wednesday, so calls started early. The week has settled down a bit, things are falling into place better as time goes on.

    I hope everyone is having a good week!

    August 21, 2013 at 8:49 am |
  18. AleeD®

    [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWBhP0EQ1lA&w=640&h=390]
    I know, I know...but I needed the laugh.

    August 21, 2013 at 7:04 am |
    • RichardHead

      What Day is it Kidz? WoooooHoooo!!!

      August 21, 2013 at 7:09 am |
    • Kat Kinsman

      RINGTONES!!! http://www.myxer.com/geico

      August 21, 2013 at 8:35 am |
    • Sir Biddle

      HUUMMMMPPP DAYYYYY!

      Could you survive? http://theoatmeal.com/quiz/bear_balls

      August 21, 2013 at 9:02 am |
      • AleeD®

        Interesting. Someone else just introduced me to the oatmeal this morning and here you are posting something from that, too. The cartoon about "who vs. whom" is most awesome.

        August 21, 2013 at 9:58 am |
        • Kat Kinsman

          His article about dogs is DEAD ON.

          http://theoatmeal.com/comics/dog_paradox

          August 21, 2013 at 10:36 am |
        • Sir Biddle

          Shows you how viral something can be as I too was turned to Oatmeal with the Who/Whom cartoon as well.

          August 21, 2013 at 12:42 pm |
        • Sir Biddle@KAT

          I'm wiping tears off my cheeks from laughing so much. THAT was awesome one!

          Horsebeast Slagbucket. Going straight into my daily lingo.

          August 21, 2013 at 12:51 pm |
        • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

          lol. One Man Human Centipede

          August 21, 2013 at 3:33 pm |
  19. AleeD®

    Wow. I'm out for a couple of days and the cat went feral – bring that sheeot in huh. Just gettin' in a quick check between projects. It's a biggie and it's gotta be done by Thursday morn. Happy 34 of 52.

    August 20, 2013 at 2:46 pm |
  20. Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

    So, the last 3 weeks two full timers moved. It's me and one other person doing the work of six people since. Talk about a work load. The one part timer I was really looking forward to coming in today called in sick. Guess the last 4 days off while we were treading water wasn't enough.

    *sigh*

    August 20, 2013 at 10:51 am |
  21. Robert

    Sorry., the klatsch is dying compared to a few months back.

    August 20, 2013 at 9:11 am |
    • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

      And you are?

      August 20, 2013 at 11:10 am |
      • Robert

        It's Robert – but you can call me Bob if you'd like.

        August 20, 2013 at 7:11 pm |
        • Snax

          Hi Bob. You look like a bobble head with that helmet you wear. Bobble head Bob. Bobble Bobble. Do you have to wear that helmet to bed too?

          August 21, 2013 at 2:25 pm |
        • Robert

          Hey Snax, thanks for asking but no. I do hear that alot though as I'm very agreeable and nod often.

          August 21, 2013 at 3:59 pm |
  22. RichardHead

    Happy Tootsday Everybody.

    August 20, 2013 at 7:17 am |
  23. Sped

    Went to the doctor today. He said I have a bad case of the klatsch and gave me penicillin for it.

    August 19, 2013 at 4:25 pm |
    • Sped

      My baddo, the cream is called penisillin.

      August 19, 2013 at 5:04 pm |
  24. Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

    AJ Jenkins traded to Chiefs. Thus, the tradition of 49ers playing for the Chiefs after their SF stint. ie: Montana, Bono, Grbac, Smith, et al

    August 19, 2013 at 2:06 pm |
  25. MicheleG™

    krap.....another weirded invasion by the twit crowd. See ya......

    August 19, 2013 at 12:57 pm |
    • MicheleG™

      THANKS! Fab!!!!

      August 19, 2013 at 2:56 pm |
  26. Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

    This is why I never did acid.

    August 19, 2013 at 12:09 pm |
    • RichardHead@Jdizz

      LSD 25–Paper Acid back in the Sixties--and then I became a Food Blogger. Who'd a Thunk it? I'm Better now since the Frontal Lobotomy–though I still blow my nose out of my Azz.

      August 19, 2013 at 12:21 pm |
      • suj

        Paper Acid, Lollygags. A pollywog whigger wrote this, fer sure. U been dust'n too much.

        August 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm |
  27. YGUY5634

    [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_ETt8uJSgU&w=420&h=315]

    August 19, 2013 at 11:40 am |
  28. MicheleG™

    Photo caption: The NEW American Gothic........(Wonder what Grant Wood would make of it? Hos painting was done in 1930.)

    August 19, 2013 at 11:38 am |
    • suj

      My first thought looking at this picture was David Byrne and Annie Clark.

      [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpPYKJAnwUo&w=640&h=390]

      August 19, 2013 at 7:29 pm |
  29. Mary Shannon

    Good morning, and a new week begins. Here's hoping its better than last week was, at least speaking personally.

    August 19, 2013 at 9:18 am |
    • Kat Kinsman

      All digits crossed for you!

      August 19, 2013 at 2:15 pm |
  30. RichardHead

    Well I guess since I'm here first....I'll start the coffee. Everybody have a Good Weekend? A Texas Statewide alert has been issued since JBJ is flying in today....she's the goofy looking one wearing the Neon cowgirl boots and a Howdy Doody hat. Shouldn't stand out too much in Austin. :))

    August 19, 2013 at 7:15 am |
    • JBJingles™

      Ha, ha! I told you I'm going for sparkly flip flops, not cowgirl boots! AND, I'm having a bad bad hair day... In other news, I had really good prime beef sliders for dinner last night at the hotel. I wonder why the beef is so good here??

      August 20, 2013 at 2:03 pm |
      • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

        It gets massages from "cowboys".

        August 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm |
Pinterest
 
| Part of