July 30th, 2013
11:30 AM ET
Share this on:

It was a difficult choice: the apple pie or the New York-style cheesecake?

Both sat in front of me, looking succulent on separate plates, on the counter at Liberty Pies & Cakes in Madrid. I pushed my coffee aside to study this opportunity.

We were in the middle of filming a report about Burton Novack, an American expat in Madrid whom you might call an unusual entrepreneur.

In the midst of Spain's economic crisis, he opened a shop two years ago to make and sell American-style pies and cakes.

Unusual because he's an octogenarian. He looks pretty fit. He says he still plays tennis. He certainly still drives because I took a ride in his car from the shop to his office, where I met his large parrot.

"I said, 'why don't I go after that making apple pies and cherry pies and things like that. Of course I really didn't know anything about how to do it,'" Novack said.

Read - American apple pie warms struggling Spain

Posted by:
Filed under: American Journeys • Spain • Travel • Video


soundoff (2 Responses)
  1. Steves

    Yes, from this one article I can see Pies as being the savoir of years of stupid government decisions. What fantasy world do you live in?

    July 31, 2013 at 9:47 am |
    • George

      This reminds me of the following exchange in the Frogger episode on Seinfeld:
      GEORGE: Just as she was. Hey, Mario! Remember us?
      PIZZERIA OWNER: No.
      JERRY: We used to come in every day.
      PIZZERIA OWNER: So where ya been? We're tanking here.
      GEORGE: We'll have 2 slices and 2 grape sodas.
      PIZZERIA OWNER: Oh, thanks. That'll save us.
      JERRY: All right, make it the large sodas.

      August 1, 2013 at 7:04 pm |
Pinterest
 
| Part of