Coffee klatsch
July 29th, 2013
05:00 AM ET
Share this on:

Pssst! Got a sec to chat?

We are utterly thrilled when readers want to hang out and talk – whether it's amongst themselves or in response to pieces we've posted. We want Eatocracy to be a cozy, spirited online home for those who find their way here.
Consider the weekly Coffee Klatsch post as your VIP lounge – the primary comments thread for readers who'd like to chat about topics not related to the articles we're running. That way, everyone knows where to find each other, and each post's comments section remains on topic.

So, regulars: note a slight change of wording above. Since daily commenting frequency has gone down, we're going to try a little experiment and post a Klatsch on Monday, for use all week. You can always find it from the link in the left rail, or by bookmarking http://eatocracy.cnn.com/category/buzz/coffee-klatsch/. If things start to heat back up over the summer, we'll go daily again.

Personally, we've really enjoyed the flow of conversation this past couple of weeks, because conversations have been able to continue for people who don't visit every day – but it's a work in progress and we're always listening.

Note: Kat's out all week. But she will miss you lots.

Posted by:
Filed under: Buzz • Coffee Klatsch


soundoff (67 Responses)
  1. Weeds

    Someone is having too much fun.
    http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-504083_162-57596630-504083/smoke-weed-electronic-road-sign-in-md-hacked-report-says/

    August 2, 2013 at 2:40 pm |
    • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

      That's what I'm screamin'.

      August 2, 2013 at 5:21 pm |
      • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

        You see some pretty funny ones out there sometimes.

        http://media.egotvonline.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/road_sign.jpg?41ed4f

        August 2, 2013 at 5:28 pm |
  2. Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫ @ Sir Biddle

    Yo. Is your handle based off the colonial Naval Officer I knew nothing about until recently (or at least forgot about)?

    I killed him yesterday in As.sas.sins Creed III on PS3. We dueled it out on the open seas. I made a mess of his ship. Love that game.

    August 2, 2013 at 1:53 pm |
  3. RichardHead

    For once,I can really say....TGIF. Here is hoping Mary S. doesn't go Totally Ballistic on an Evil Doer....tho IMHO the Furries have every right to perform a Double Dutch Oven on said Person. Just don't light a candle.....JBJ Finally made it back to work ( which is surfing the Internets for Monster Dolls ) and Our Fearless Leader received Red Roses for her Birthday. Nice... Las Vegas will never be the same. I Hope everyone has a Great Weekend,Grill when you can,and RELAX. :))

    August 2, 2013 at 12:26 pm |
    • Sir Biddle

      New York City bound for the weekend. I foresee a duffle bag of bagels returning with us on Sunday.

      August 2, 2013 at 12:30 pm |
      • RichardHead@Sir B

        You are Such a Cheap Date...HA !! Have fun,and remember-Bagels,with cream cheese,maybe some exotic meats. Have a Good Weekend.

        August 2, 2013 at 12:48 pm |
      • Truth™@Biddle

        Where are you staying? I am envious. More importantly, where are you eating?

        August 2, 2013 at 12:51 pm |
        • Sir Biddle

          Staying in mid-town. Its a very quick trip so sight see tomorrow afternoon. Dinner at http://www.victorscafe.com/old/index2.html and then a show on Broadway. Lots of NY pizza for me and the bagels go for Mrs Biddle. Full report on Monday.

          August 2, 2013 at 3:48 pm |
        • JBJ@SirB

          What show are you seeing? I have trip planned end of October and want to go to a show... Enjoy!

          August 2, 2013 at 4:13 pm |
    • Weeds

      Grillax – most excellent!

      August 2, 2013 at 1:31 pm |
    • JBJ

      Greetings everyone! T-G-I-F! Oh, and those are Monster High Dolls, highly prized by the 5-8 year olds I might add. Flight delays got us home afer 1 AM yesterday, still dragging today, but have to leave my house at 4 AM tomorrow to head to Florida, fun stuff.

      AleeD – Please have your weather cooperate for me, willya?

      August 2, 2013 at 1:55 pm |
      • RichardHead@JBJ

        It's Shark Week, Please wear something Nice.

        August 2, 2013 at 2:02 pm |
        • JBJ@RH

          So I have to dress up for the sharks!? I don't think so...I'm expecting inhumane levels of humidity, so the hair will be a mess anyways. Cheapo Air upgraded me tomorrow, so need to pack the extra TP this time. Where will you be in the morning, I'll wave out the window...

          August 2, 2013 at 2:12 pm |
        • RichardHead@JBJ

          Hmmmmm....Hair in a Pony Tail,and the thought of Nancy's BBQ. :))

          August 2, 2013 at 2:30 pm |
      • AleeD from Home Sweet Home® @ JBJ

        While the Lounge Dom is something of a control freak, her power over the elements is limited. Your trip begs the question (and you know how much I love it when they beg), why on God's Green Earth are you coming to Floridor in August?! Despite the word "gust" in its name, August it is one of two months of the year when there is zero breeze in Floridork – unless there's a hurricane. ;)

        August 3, 2013 at 10:13 am |
    • Mary Shannon

      All is safe today, but I'll keep the Furries on alert for next week just in case.

      I hope you have a great weekend, too, grill safe!!

      August 2, 2013 at 2:10 pm |
  4. Mary Shannon

    Wow, I miss one afternoon checking in here and the conversations explode...nice work, guys!!

    Happy Birthday, Kat, one day late, sorry!! I hope it was a good one!

    Its finally Friday, yippee!! Now, if my evil co-worker and I have no contact today, it will be a fantastic Friday. Have a great weekend everyone!

    August 2, 2013 at 9:32 am |
  5. RichardHead@Kat

    I really had to dig through the archives from the State of Kentucky ( a Very Nice State ) to witness your Birth via Super 8 mm film. You were laughing and yelling " I'm Hungry " as the nurses scrambled to find a Bottle wrapped in salt on the rim. Yes, You were born with the Cherry Tat on your shoulder and a desire for Squirrel Burgoo..which Thankfully were in season at this time.
    Happy Birthday Kitten....and Thank You.

    August 1, 2013 at 2:39 pm |
  6. Truth™@Our Beloved Blog Editor

    Happy Birthday my dear, and many, many happy returns!
    We all hope your time off was fun, relaxing and unforgettable!

    August 1, 2013 at 2:05 pm |
  7. Truth™

    Good morning all, from a warm and toasty Denver. Week has gone quickly, but it is nice to see July in the history books. Hard to believe that some schools out here start next week.

    August 1, 2013 at 12:44 pm |
    • RichardHead@Truth

      Some of the schools in the Houston area started this week which is good. Gets the Lil' Bas tards out of Momma's Basement.BTW...If I remember correctly,someone has a Birthday coming up....and I can't remember WHO?

      August 1, 2013 at 12:54 pm |
      • Truth™@BroRichHead

        Not me, I am in April, along with Marlon Brando, Doris Day and Amanda Bynes. Interesting company to keep...

        Who you talkin about? Are there going to be spanking in AleeD's future..?

        August 1, 2013 at 1:00 pm |
        • RichardHead

          Shirley U Jest.....Alee's is in September and I doubt she is into self Flagellation--tho she does live in Floridor. Ummmmm,does the name Megan ring a Bell or two or three. Watch that credit card quickly. :))

          August 1, 2013 at 1:09 pm |
        • Truth™@BroRichHead

          She's been gone so long, I completely missed that. I think she was just disappointed when you beat her in the last "Hit it" compet!tion

          August 1, 2013 at 1:16 pm |
        • RichardHead

          I Must concur-a Royal Butt Whooping in front of ALL of Indiana. She is Strong tho and should be able to Butt slide her way into the local Dairy Queen for some Birthday Treats. Everything OK in the NE ?

          August 1, 2013 at 1:25 pm |
        • AleeD®@Turth™ & RichBro

          Self-flagellation season peaks around voting time. Let's just say hubby takes goooood care of me the rest of the year. Someone else's time of the year comes up next month, too. Rich, how far from retirement age will you be this year? Lots closer than me. heh-heh.

          August 1, 2013 at 3:25 pm |
        • RichardHead@AleeD

          Jeez, I can't retire 'cuz I owe,I owe, and it's off to work I go. Your older anyway......

          August 1, 2013 at 3:37 pm |
        • AleeD®@ OlderBro

          Am not neither. :-p

          August 2, 2013 at 7:03 am |
    • AleeD®@Turth™

      I'm so glad I'm not involved in public schools anymore. This weekend is our annual tax-free shopping weekend. Necessarily I shan't be shopping anywhere this weekend but the grocery store. ;)))

      August 1, 2013 at 1:22 pm |
      • Truth™@AleeD

        I used to teach middle school, so I can feel your pain (In a manner of speaking)...I always like to see summer come to a gradual end. Will have to be careful on my way to the office though. I go through three school zones...

        August 1, 2013 at 1:27 pm |
        • AleeD®@Turth™

          Oh please do be careful, then. Cuz kids with rolling backpacks are worth way more points than kids who wear them.

          August 2, 2013 at 7:06 am |
  8. Mary Shannon

    Good morning, and happy Thursday! One day of rain here then back to nice and sunny for the weekend. Enjoy!

    August 1, 2013 at 9:23 am |
    • AleeD®

      Good afternoon nice lady. It's awfully quiet in here. 'Scuse me while I crank up my playlist.
      [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NV5-DaI5ULg&w=640&h=390]

      August 1, 2013 at 12:17 pm |
      • RichardHead@AleeD

        I Can't hear youuuuuuuuuuuuu.......Waaaaaaaaaaaasup 'Sista? I see that our Fearless Leader is lounging by the pool in Lost Wages,NV. Ahhhhhh-Vacation,which I doubt I'll see this year. That's OK tho...she deserves it.

        August 1, 2013 at 12:31 pm |
        • AleeD®

          Yo Bro! Wasabi? Why no vacation pour vous, mon ami? Can't you hitch a ride on one of JBJingles Cheapo Air rides to parts unknown? I'm sure they'd drop a ladder for you on the way if you called ahead ...

          August 1, 2013 at 12:38 pm |
        • RichardHead@AleeD

          I can't afford the pre-request of 20 or more rolls of TP for Donation purposes Only. I'll take off near X-Mas time and hit South Padre for some Fishin' Fun.

          August 1, 2013 at 12:47 pm |
  9. MicheleG™

    Basil, garlic, sunflower seeds, and Parmesan cheese blend into pesto sauce which is tossed with hot pasta for a quick meal. The pesto may be made and refrigerated for up to 2 weeks. Prep Time: 10 minutes. Total Time: 10 minutes
    Yield: 4 to 6 servings

    Ingredients:
    4 cups coarsely chopped fresh basil leaves (or parsley)
    1 cup hulled raw sunflower seeds (I like roasted/salted)
    1/2 cup olive oil
    1 cup freshly grated Parmesan
    2 Tablespoons sweet butter, at room temperature
    2 cloves garlic, crushed
    Preparation:
    Place basil, sunflower seeds, olive oil, Parmesan, butter, and garlic in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the metal blade. Process to a puree, scraping down sides often.
    Transfer pesto to a small bowl with a lid. Press a sheet of plastic wrap to the surface of the pesto sauce, then seal with the lid. May be refrigerated up to 2 weeks.

    July 31, 2013 at 4:27 pm |
    • Steves

      Thank you!

      August 2, 2013 at 12:15 pm |
  10. Breaking News!™

    Polls indicate that NY mayoral candidate Anthony Weiner continues to lose support. In a Quinnipiac/Gallup poll released today, he trails not only all other candidates, but also Julian Assange, Kim Kardashian, Lindsey Lohan and Kermit the Frog.

    You may now return to your regularly scheduled Eatocracy.

    July 31, 2013 at 8:48 am |
    • RichardHead

      There is an Athletic Supporter App for that.....

      July 31, 2013 at 8:59 am |
      • AleeD®

        ~_~ Really? ~_~

        August 1, 2013 at 12:41 pm |
  11. RichardHead

    A Happy Hump Day to my Homies.....and I have one thing to say-–TEXAS BBQ !!!! Enjoy your day Y'all !!

    July 31, 2013 at 8:03 am |
    • Steves

      YEE YEAH!

      July 31, 2013 at 9:45 am |
  12. Till Tuesday.

    I desire the ultimate Peso recipe. Anyone?

    July 30, 2013 at 4:04 pm |
    • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

      You plan on counterfeiting Mexican coin?

      July 30, 2013 at 4:17 pm |
    • Till Tuesday.

      Sorry, Pesto.

      July 30, 2013 at 8:41 pm |
      • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

        I figured. Not a fan of pesto.

        July 31, 2013 at 10:35 am |
  13. Breaking News!™

    In a stunning decision, a court says that New Yorkers can, in fact, think for themselves. New York Mayor Michael Bloomburg strongly disagrees.

    http://www.cnn.com/2013/07/30/us/new-york-large-soda-ban/index.html?hpt=hp_t2

    July 30, 2013 at 2:30 pm |
  14. Dr Pepper Upper

    This is for all those out there on vacation.
    For those of us who haven't had one for so long and forgotten what one is; it's where you are paid to do what ever you want, sleep or bungee jump a bridge. Yes actually given a pay check to check out of work. How cool is that?
    So I ask you. ARE YOU HAVING FUN YET?

    July 30, 2013 at 12:29 pm |
  15. Mary Shannon

    Good morning, kind of....when you start your morning on an early call doing a RACI chart it really doesn't qualify as a good morning, just sayin.

    I hope your day is better than mine is shaping up to be.

    July 30, 2013 at 9:02 am |
    • Weeds

      So which was it? Making the chart or the thing that made you make a chart that charted your day off course?

      July 30, 2013 at 3:59 pm |
  16. Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

    I literally just had an old lady walk up to me and say "Sorry, I can barely see today."

    "Did you drive here?" I asked.

    "Yes."

    I figured. I'm going to start a campaign against this.

    July 29, 2013 at 10:16 am |
    • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

      Also, couldn't remember why she came here.

      July 29, 2013 at 10:17 am |
  17. Sir Biddle

    Thanks for moderating me. Good day.

    July 29, 2013 at 9:45 am |
    • Kat Kinsman

      Not on purpose, I swear. (And I'm on vacation this week. Your collective patience can be my birthday present!)

      July 29, 2013 at 10:00 am |
      • Sir Biddle

        Happy 29th!

        July 29, 2013 at 1:56 pm |
      • Jdizzle McHammerpants ♫♫

        It's my money, and I want it NOW!

        July 29, 2013 at 2:30 pm |
  18. Mary Shannon

    Good morning. Wishing Kat a great vacation, and we will miss her, too.

    Nice temps forecast here for the next week or so, I hope to get a bike ride in this week. Have a good one, folks!

    July 29, 2013 at 9:22 am |
    • Kat Kinsman

      Thank you! I am terrible at being on vacation and can use any encouragement.

      July 29, 2013 at 10:14 am |
  19. Truth™

    Good morning all!
    How was the weekend? Anyone do anything fun?

    July 29, 2013 at 8:43 am |
    • Sir Biddle

      Enjoyed cool temps and grilled pizza! You?

      July 29, 2013 at 9:45 am |
      • Truth™@Biddle

        Nothing big over the weekend. Actually had rain yesterday, so just worked around the house.

        July 29, 2013 at 10:51 am |
  20. Sir Biddle@Weeds aka The Bug Expert

    Kudos to Weeds who sluthed out my squash plant problem. You were correct sir (or ma'am – not sure) as the problem was a squash vine borer. Little SOB's have taken over 3 of my 4 plants with the remaining on life support. Will be ready for em next year.

    July 29, 2013 at 8:28 am |
    • Weeds

      Glad to help. Squash plants are pretty resilient, hopefully they'll all recover.
      BTW, My wife will tell you I am not of the female persuasion. And she is never wrong.

      July 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm |
  21. Alee D Alarm Clock®

    My favorite place ... er ... wait ... ~_~
    [youtube=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3Yrhv33Zb8&w=640&h=390]

    July 29, 2013 at 6:52 am |
Pinterest
 
| Part of